Follow

2.4.6 Manual Update for Mac Users (Installation and Troubleshooting)

If you are one of our Mac users who did not download TuneUp from the Mac App Store, you will notice that we have prompted you to update your version of TuneUp (see 2.4.6 Release Notes), but this update cannot occur via our normal automatic update process.  When you launch the app, you will see a screen that looks like this.

2.4.6_update_dialog.jpg

Please follow the instructions, and click the link that reads "Update Now." You will be taken to a page on our website, where you can download the newest version of TuneUp - version 2.4.6.  

After you download the new installer for v 2.4.6, please shut down the currently running version of TuneUp on your Mac, in case you haven't done so already, and run the installer by double-clicking the ".dmg" file you just downloaded.  You will be prompted to open the installer - - click open.

2.4.6_open_installer.png

Then, drag and drop the TuneUp icon into the Applications folder.

mac_insaller_drag.png

Then you will be asked whether or not you want to replace your old version of TuneUp.  You do, so click the "Replace" button.

2.4.6_replace_prompt.png

At this point, your new version of TuneUp (v 2.4.6) should be installed and ready to go.  All of your previous preferences and settings will be in tact.

Troubleshooting:

  • If you don't shut down TuneUp before you install, you will receive errors that look like this:

2.4.6_still_in_use.png

2.4.6_still_running.png

If this happens, please quit out of TuneUp and try the installation process again.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

  • If you bypass the "Update Now" screen within the TuneUp UI and download TuneUp directly from our website, you may see the following error message: 

         TuneUp_helper.png

To resolve this issue, click on the Apple logo on the top left hand side of your screen, and select "Log Out" from the drop down menu.

Screen_Shot_2012-06-13_at_5.49.59_PM.png

If you are running OS X Lion, you will be prompted to "Reopen windows when logging back in." Please uncheck this box, and press "Log Out." If you are running OS X Snow Leopard, this step does not apply to you - simply press "Log Out" and continue to the next step.

Log_Out.png

After logging back in, locate the TuneUp-2.4.6.dmg file in your downloads folder, and double click it. Follow the on-screen instructions to overwrite your current version of TuneUp with the newest version. 

mac_insaller_drag.png

Was this article helpful?
8 out of 8 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments